what is vegan

Are high fructose corn syrups vegan?

High fructose corn syrups is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is high fructose corn syrups?

High fructose corn syrup (HFCS) is a sweetener made from corn starch that has been processed to convert glucose into fructose. It is commonly used as a sweetener in processed foods and beverages, such as soft drinks, baked goods, and condiments. HFCS is composed of varying amounts of fructose and glucose, with the most common types containing either 42% or 55% fructose. It has a similar sweetness level to table sugar, but is more affordable and easier to use in manufacturing. However, some studies suggest that excessive consumption of HFCS may be linked to health problems such as obesity, diabetes, and heart disease.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like high fructose corn syrups?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy