what is vegan

Are milk enzymes vegan?

Milk enzymes is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is milk enzymes?

Milk enzymes are biological proteins naturally found in milk that aid in the breakdown of lactose and other complex molecules. These enzymes are responsible for the digestion of milk and dairy products, making them an essential component of many dairy foods. Milk enzymes can also be used in food processing to improve the texture and flavor of cheese, yogurt, and other dairy products. These enzymes are typically added during the production process and work by breaking down specific proteins and sugars to enhance the flavor and aroma of the final product. Milk enzymes are safe for consumption and are considered a natural and healthy ingredient in many dairy products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like milk enzymes?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy