what is vegan

Are sciroppo di mais vegan?

Sciroppo di mais is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sciroppo di mais?

Sciroppo di mais, or corn syrup, is a thick, viscous sweetener derived from corn starch. It is commonly used in the food industry to enhance flavor, texture, and moisture retention in a variety of products such as candy, baked goods, and beverages. Unlike regular sugar, corn syrup contains glucose, which can prevent crystallization and provide a longer shelf life. Although it is often criticized for its high fructose content and potential health risks, corn syrup remains a popular ingredient due to its versatility and affordability. Whether you're adding it to a recipe or enjoying it as a topping, sciroppo di mais is sure to satisfy your sweet tooth.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sciroppo di mais?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy