what is vegan

Are sodium malates vegan?

Sodium malates is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sodium malates?

Sodium malates are a food ingredient used as a acidity regulator, flavor enhancer, and preservative. They are a combination of malic acid and sodium, which can be naturally found in fruits like apples and grapes. Sodium malates are commonly used in the food industry to give a sour taste to processed foods, such as fruit juices, canned fruits, and confectionery. They are also used in the production of sports drinks and energy bars, as they provide a slow and steady release of energy. Sodium malates are generally recognized as safe by regulatory bodies and are considered a healthy alternative to other synthetic food additives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sodium malates?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy