what is vegan

Is â modified corn starch vegan?

 modified corn starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is â modified corn starch?

Modified corn starch is a common food ingredient derived from corn through a process that alters its chemical structure. The modification is done to enhance the starch's properties, such as its thickening ability, stability, and texture. It is a versatile ingredient used in various food products, including soups, sauces, bakery products, beverages, and processed meats. Modified corn starch is a gluten-free and vegan-friendly substitute for wheat flour and other thickeners. It adds creamy consistency, improves shelf life, and reduces costs for manufacturers. Although it is generally considered safe for consumption, some people may have allergic reactions or other adverse effects.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like â modified corn starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy