what is vegan

Is algas wakame vegan?

Algas wakame is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is algas wakame?

Wakame seaweed, also known as "alga wakame" in Spanish, is a type of edible brown seaweed commonly used in East Asian cuisine. It is characterized by its delicate texture and subtle flavor, which is slightly sweet and salty with a hint of umami. Wakame is a good source of essential vitamins and minerals, including iodine, calcium, and iron. It is often used in salads, miso soup, and as a garnish for sushi. Due to its high nutritional value and unique taste, wakame has gained popularity in Western countries as well.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like algas wakame?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy