what is vegan

Is alginate de sodium vegan?

Alginate de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is alginate de sodium?

Sodium alginate is a food-grade ingredient derived from brown seaweed. It's a tasteless and odorless powder that is commonly used as a thickening, emulsifying, and gelling agent in food products. Sodium alginate has the unique ability to form a gel when it comes into contact with calcium ions, making it an ideal ingredient for creating a variety of textures in foods such as ice cream, yogurt, and dressings. It's also used in molecular gastronomy to create spherification, where liquid droplets are encapsulated in a thin gel membrane. Overall, sodium alginate is a versatile ingredient that adds texture and stability to a wide range of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like alginate de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy