what is vegan

Is almidón maíz vegan?

Almidón maíz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidón maíz?

Almidón maíz, also known as cornstarch, is a fine white powder extracted from the endosperm of corn kernels. It is a versatile ingredient used in many culinary applications, including baking, thickening sauces and soups, and coating fried foods. Almidón maíz is gluten-free and has a neutral flavor and aroma, making it an ideal substitute for wheat flour in gluten-free recipes. When added to cold liquids, it creates a smooth and silky texture, while cooking it at high temperatures results in a thick and glossy consistency. With its ability to enhance texture and improve mouthfeel, almidón maíz is a staple ingredient in many professional kitchens and home pantries alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidón maíz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy