what is vegan

Is almidones modificados de maíz vegan?

Almidones modificados de maíz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidones modificados de maíz?

"Almidones modificados de maíz" is a Spanish term referring to modified corn starches. These are chemically or physically altered corn starches that have been processed to improve their functional properties, such as stability, viscosity, and texture. Modified corn starches are commonly used as a thickening agent in food products like soups, sauces, and gravies, as well as in baked goods and snacks for their ability to enhance texture and consistency. They can also be used in non-food applications, such as paper and textile industries. Modified corn starches are gluten-free, making them a popular ingredient in gluten-free food options.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidones modificados de maíz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy