what is vegan

Is annatto for color vegan?

Annatto for color is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is annatto for color?

Annatto is a natural food coloring agent derived from the seeds of the achiote tree, native to Central and South America. Its vibrant orange-red hue is widely used in the food industry to impart color to various food products such as cheeses, butter, rice, and sauces. In addition to its coloring properties, annatto is also valued for its earthy, slightly sweet flavor and aroma. It is a popular alternative to synthetic food dyes due to its natural origin and is often preferred by consumers who seek more natural food choices. Annatto is also known for its potential health benefits, such as its antioxidant and anti-inflammatory properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like annatto for color?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy