what is vegan

Is as hydrolyzed soy protein vegan?

As hydrolyzed soy protein is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is as hydrolyzed soy protein?

Hydrolyzed soy protein is a highly processed food ingredient made from defatted soy flour that has undergone hydrolysis, a chemical process that breaks down protein molecules into smaller peptides. This results in a protein powder with improved solubility and digestibility, as well as a savory taste similar to that of meat. Its versatility and affordability make it a popular ingredient in many processed foods such as soups, sauces, snacks, and meat analogues. However, some people with soy allergies or sensitivities may experience adverse reactions to hydrolyzed soy protein, so it's important to read food labels carefully.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like as hydrolyzed soy protein?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy