what is vegan

Is ascorbaté de sodium vegan?

Ascorbaté de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ascorbaté de sodium?

Ascorbaté de sodium, also known as sodium ascorbate, is a highly soluble and bioavailable form of vitamin C that is often used as a food additive and supplement. It is a white, crystalline powder that is odorless and has a slightly salty taste. Ascorbaté de sodium is commonly used in the food industry as a preservative and antioxidant, helping to maintain the color, texture, and flavor of a wide variety of foods. It is also frequently added to supplements and fortified foods as a source of vitamin C, which plays a crucial role in maintaining a healthy immune system, skin, and connective tissues.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ascorbaté de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy