what is vegan

Is barbados gooseberry vegan?

Barbados gooseberry is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is barbados gooseberry?

Barbados gooseberry, also known as Pereskia aculeata or "leaf cactus," is a tropical fruit that grows on a small tree or shrub. It has a unique tart and slightly sweet flavor with a texture similar to grapes. The fruit is bright red when ripe and is typically used in jams, jellies, and desserts. Besides being a delicious treat, barbados gooseberry also has some medicinal properties - it is believed to help with digestive issues, high blood pressure, and inflammation. This exotic fruit is not only tasty but also packed with nutrients, making it a great addition to any diet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like barbados gooseberry?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy