what is vegan

Is beef gelatin vegan?

Beef gelatin is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is beef gelatin?

Beef gelatin is a versatile food ingredient that has been used for centuries in various culinary applications. It is derived from collagen-rich beef skin, bones, and connective tissues that are boiled down to create a thick, clear liquid that can then be solidified into a gel-like substance. Beef gelatin is commonly used as a gelling agent in desserts, candies, and other confectionery products, but it can also be found in savory dishes like stews and soups. Additionally, it has several health benefits, including supporting joint health, promoting healthy hair and nails, and aiding in digestion. Its neutral taste and odor make it an ideal addition to many recipes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like beef gelatin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy