what is vegan

Is beef thymus vegan?

Beef thymus is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is beef thymus?

Beef thymus, also known as sweetbread, is a unique and delicious ingredient that is often overlooked in modern cuisine. This organ meat is the thymus gland of young cows, and has a rich and creamy texture that melts in your mouth. It has a subtle sweet and nutty flavor that pairs well with savory spices and herbs. Beef thymus is a great source of protein, vitamin B12 and iron, making it a nutritious addition to any meal. It can be grilled, sautéed or fried, and is commonly used in French and Mediterranean cuisine.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like beef thymus?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy