what is vegan

Is belladonna vegan?

Belladonna is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is belladonna?

Belladonna, also known as "deadly nightshade," is a plant species native to Europe, North Africa, and Western Asia. Its glossy black berries and bell-shaped flowers have been used in herbal medicine for centuries, but its leaves and roots contain potent toxins that can be fatal when ingested. Belladonna has been used medicinally as a pain reliever, anti-inflammatory, and sedative. In small doses, it has been used to treat ailments such as asthma, bronchitis, and gastrointestinal issues. However, due to its toxicity, it is highly regulated and should only be used under the supervision of a qualified healthcare professional. In cooking, belladonna is never used due to its potential toxicity.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like belladonna?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy