what is vegan

Is black garlic vegan?

Black garlic is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is black garlic?

Black garlic is a fermented version of regular garlic, with a distinct dark hue and a rich, complex flavor profile. It is made by slow-cooking whole bulbs of garlic at low temperatures for several weeks, which transforms the sugars and amino acids in the garlic into new compounds that give black garlic its unique taste and aroma. Unlike raw garlic, black garlic has a milder, sweeter taste with hints of molasses, balsamic vinegar, and even licorice. This versatile ingredient can be used in a variety of dishes, from savory sauces and marinades to sweet desserts and snacks. It also offers potential health benefits due to its high antioxidant content and anti-inflammatory properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like black garlic?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy