what is vegan

Is butylhydroxyanisol vegan?

Butylhydroxyanisol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is butylhydroxyanisol?

Butylhydroxyanisol (BHA) is a synthetic antioxidant commonly used in the food industry to prevent spoilage and extend the shelf life of products. It is derived from petroleum and is classified as a food additive by the FDA. BHA is particularly effective in preserving fats and oils, which can go rancid quickly when exposed to oxygen. While BHA is generally considered safe in small amounts, some studies have linked it to potential health concerns. As a result, some consumers and food manufacturers have opted for alternative natural antioxidants.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like butylhydroxyanisol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy