what is vegan

Is caramel flavouring vegan?

Caramel flavouring is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caramel flavouring?

Caramel flavouring is a rich and indulgent ingredient that adds a delightful sweetness to a wide range of dishes. This flavouring is created by heating sugar until it melts and turns into a rich, golden-brown syrup. The resulting flavour is reminiscent of toffee, with a deep, complex sweetness that can be used to enhance the taste of everything from desserts to coffee to cocktails. Whether you're looking to add a touch of sweetness to your baking or want to create a decadent dessert sauce, caramel flavouring is an excellent choice that's sure to impress.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caramel flavouring?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy