what is vegan

Is carbonate de calcium vegan?

Carbonate de calcium is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonate de calcium?

Carbonate de calcium, also known as calcium carbonate, is a naturally occurring mineral commonly found in rocks and minerals. It is a fine, odorless, and tasteless white powder that is widely used in the food industry as a calcium supplement, a pH adjuster, and a firming agent. It is also used in the production of baking powder, toothpaste, and dietary supplements. As a food ingredient, carbonate de calcium is considered safe and has no known adverse health effects. It is an essential nutrient that helps to build and maintain strong bones and teeth, and is easily absorbed by the body.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonate de calcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy