what is vegan

Is cognac vegan?

Cognac is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cognac?

Cognac is a luxurious and refined brandy that originates from the Cognac region of France. Made from white grapes, Cognac is distilled twice and aged in oak barrels for a minimum of two years, resulting in a rich and complex flavor profile. The aging process imbues the liquor with notes of vanilla, caramel, and oak, which complement the fruity and floral undertones of the grapes. Cognac is often sipped as a digestif, paired with a fine cigar or enjoyed as a decadent addition to a cocktail. Its smooth and velvety texture and intense flavor make it a prized ingredient in high-end cuisine, especially in French dishes that require a touch of sophistication.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cognac?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy