what is vegan

Is carrageenan stabilizer vegan?

Carrageenan stabilizer is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carrageenan stabilizer?

Carrageenan stabilizer is a natural food ingredient derived from red seaweed. It's commonly used as a thickener and emulsifier in various food products, including dairy items like ice cream, whipped cream, and chocolate milk. Carrageenan stabilizer helps to improve the texture and consistency of these foods by creating a smooth, creamy mouthfeel. It's also an excellent binding agent that prevents ingredients from separating and settling. Despite some controversy surrounding its safety, carrageenan stabilizer is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies and widely accepted as a valuable ingredient in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carrageenan stabilizer?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy