what is vegan

Is carraghenine vegan?

Carraghenine is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carraghenine?

Carrageenan is a natural, plant-based ingredient derived from red seaweed. It's commonly used as a thickener, stabilizer, and gelling agent in food products such as dairy, desserts, and meat products. Carrageenan is particularly useful in plant-based food products as it can improve the texture and mouthfeel, giving them a more authentic and satisfying experience. The unique properties of carrageenan allow it to function as a versatile ingredient, capable of improving the stability and shelf life of food products without compromising on taste or quality. With its natural and functional benefits, carrageenan is a popular choice for food manufacturers and consumers alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carraghenine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy