what is vegan

Is lysosyme vegan?

Lysosyme is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lysosyme?

Lysosyme is a natural enzyme found in egg whites and some other bodily fluids that plays an important role in protecting against bacterial infections. It works by breaking down the cell walls of certain types of bacteria, making them vulnerable to destruction by the body's immune system. Because of its antimicrobial properties, lysosyme is often used as a natural preservative in food products, particularly in cheese and wine. It has also been studied for potential use in medical applications, such as preventing dental plaque and treating respiratory infections. Despite its potential benefits, some people may be allergic to lysosyme and should avoid consuming it.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lysosyme?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy