what is vegan

Is colecalciferol vegan?

Colecalciferol is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is colecalciferol?

Colecalciferol is a fat-soluble vitamin, also known as Vitamin D3. It is produced naturally in the skin when exposed to sunlight and is also found in certain foods like fatty fish, egg yolks, and mushrooms. Colecalciferol plays an essential role in maintaining healthy bones by aiding the absorption of calcium and phosphorus from the intestines. It also helps support the immune system and has been linked to reducing the risk of certain cancers, diabetes, and autoimmune diseases. Colecalciferol supplements are commonly used to prevent and treat Vitamin D deficiency.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like colecalciferol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy