what is vegan

Is common salt vegan?

Common salt is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is common salt?

Common salt, also known as table salt or sodium chloride, is a ubiquitous mineral that is used in almost every type of cuisine around the world. It is a crystalline substance that is typically extracted from salt mines or seawater, and is composed of sodium and chloride ions. Salt is known for its ability to enhance the flavor of food, as well as its preservative properties. In addition to its culinary uses, salt is also used in various industrial applications, such as in the production of chemicals and in the melting of snow and ice on roads. Despite its widespread use, excessive consumption of salt can have negative health effects, making it important to consume in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like common salt?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy