what is vegan

Is corn dextrose vegan?

Corn dextrose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is corn dextrose?

Corn dextrose, also known as corn sugar or d-glucose, is a simple sugar that is derived from corn starch. It is a highly versatile ingredient that is commonly used in the food industry as a sweetener, bulking agent, and fermentation substrate. Corn dextrose has a sweet taste and is often used as a substitute for table sugar. Due to its ability to dissolve quickly in water, it is also commonly used in sports drinks, energy bars, and other nutritional supplements. It is a natural ingredient that is gluten-free, non-GMO, and has a low glycemic index, making it a popular choice for those looking for healthier sweetening options.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like corn dextrose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy