what is vegan

Is hydrolyzed corn protein vegan?

Hydrolyzed corn protein is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrolyzed corn protein?

Hydrolyzed corn protein is a versatile food ingredient derived from corn through the process of hydrolysis. It is a protein-rich powder that is commonly used as a flavor enhancer, texturizer, and emulsifier in various food products such as soups, sauces, snacks, and meat products. Hydrolysis breaks down the corn protein into smaller peptides, which improves its solubility and digestibility. This makes it an excellent source of amino acids that can be easily absorbed by the body. Hydrolyzed corn protein is also a popular ingredient in vegan and vegetarian food products as it provides a meaty flavor and improves the texture of plant-based proteins.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrolyzed corn protein?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy