what is vegan

Is corn starch modified vegan?

Corn starch modified is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is corn starch modified?

Corn starch modified is a common food ingredient derived from corn kernels that has been treated with acid, enzymes, or other chemicals to change its properties. This process alters the structure of the starch molecules, resulting in a more versatile and functional ingredient. Modified corn starch can be used as a thickener, stabilizer, binder, and emulsifier in a wide range of food products, from sauces and gravies to baked goods and snacks. It provides a smooth texture, enhances flavor and shelf life, and improves the overall quality of the final product. Modified corn starch is a popular choice for food manufacturers due to its effectiveness, cost efficiency, and versatility.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like corn starch modified?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy