what is vegan

Is cuajo animal vegan?

Cuajo animal is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cuajo animal?

Cuajo animal, also known as animal rennet, is a natural coagulant used in the cheese-making process. It is extracted from the stomach lining of young ruminant animals, such as calves or lambs, and contains enzymes that help curdle milk. Unlike vegetable rennet, which is derived from plant sources, cuajo animal is highly effective and is commonly used in the production of traditional cheese varieties. This ingredient is a crucial component in creating the desired texture, flavor, and aroma of cheese. However, due to the ethical concerns associated with its sourcing, some cheese makers have started to switch to plant-based rennet alternatives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cuajo animal?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy