what is vegan

Is d'alginate de sodium vegan?

D'alginate de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is d'alginate de sodium?

Sodium alginate is a natural polymer derived from seaweed that has unique thickening, gelling, and stabilizing properties. It is commonly used as a food ingredient in the production of various foods, including sauces, dressings, and desserts. Sodium alginate can help improve texture, increase viscosity, and enhance mouthfeel. It can also be used as a binding agent and emulsifier in food processing. Sodium alginate is a safe and natural alternative to chemical additives, and it is commonly used in vegan and vegetarian food products. It is a versatile ingredient that can help achieve a wide range of culinary goals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like d'alginate de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy