what is vegan

Is decanedioic acid vegan?

Decanedioic acid is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is decanedioic acid?

Decanedioic acid, also known as sebacic acid, is a naturally occurring dicarboxylic acid that is widely used in the food industry as an ingredient and as a building block for other chemicals. It is a white crystalline powder with a slight odor and a melting point of 131-134Β°C. Decanedioic acid is often used as a flavoring agent, preservative, and pH regulator in food products such as beverages, baked goods, and dairy products. Additionally, it is used in the production of nylon, plasticizers, lubricants, and other industrial products. It is a safe and versatile ingredient that is approved by various regulatory agencies worldwide.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like decanedioic acid?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy