what is vegan

Is dextrina de maiz vegan?

Dextrina de maiz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dextrina de maiz?

Dextrina de maiz, also known as corn dextrin, is a soluble dietary fiber derived from corn starch. It is commonly used as a thickener, stabilizer, and filler in the food industry due to its ability to absorb water and form a gel-like substance. Dextrina de maiz is also used as a coating for baked goods and as a binding agent in meat products. This white, odorless powder has a neutral taste and is easy to digest. It is often used as a low-calorie alternative to other thickeners and is a popular ingredient in gluten-free products. Additionally, dextrina de maiz has been shown to have prebiotic properties and may help support healthy gut bacteria.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dextrina de maiz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy