what is vegan

Is diphosphate de calcium vegan?

Diphosphate de calcium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is diphosphate de calcium?

Diphosphate de calcium, also known as calcium pyrophosphate, is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a leavening agent in baking. It is a white, odorless powder that is soluble in water and slightly soluble in ethanol. This compound is made up of two phosphate groups and one calcium ion, and it is commonly used in baking powders to help dough rise. In addition to its use in baking, diphosphate de calcium is also used as a source of calcium in some dietary supplements and fortified foods. Despite its common use, it is important to note that excessive intake of diphosphate de calcium may lead to potential health risks.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like diphosphate de calcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy