what is vegan

Is disodium dihydrogen pýrophosphate vegan?

Disodium dihydrogen pýrophosphate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is disodium dihydrogen pýrophosphate?

Disodium dihydrogen pyrophosphate is a food ingredient commonly used as a leavening agent, emulsifier, and texturizer in many processed foods. It is a white or colorless crystalline powder that can enhance the flavor and texture of baked goods, meat products, and canned vegetables. Disodium dihydrogen pyrophosphate works by reacting with baking soda to produce carbon dioxide gas, which helps dough rise and provides a light, fluffy texture. While the ingredient has been deemed safe for consumption by regulatory agencies, some studies have suggested potential health risks associated with high intake levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like disodium dihydrogen pýrophosphate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy