what is vegan

Is disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate vegan?

Disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate?

Disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate is a food ingredient commonly used as a flavor enhancer in a variety of processed foods. It is made by combining glutamic acid, a naturally occurring amino acid, with hydrogenated tallow, a saturated fat derived from animal sources. The resulting compound is then treated with sodium hydroxide to create disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate. Despite its artificial origin, this ingredient has a savory taste that can enhance the flavor of soups, sauces, and snack foods. However, some people may be sensitive to it and experience adverse reactions, so it's important to check food labels and consume in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like disodium hydrogenatedtallowglutamate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy