what is vegan

Is dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate vegan?

Dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate?

Dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate is a derivative of cholesterol that has been esterified with octyldecanoic acid. It is commonly used as an emollient in cosmetics and personal care products due to its ability to improve the texture and feel of skin. Dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate also possesses antioxidant properties that can protect the skin from damage caused by free radicals. This ingredient is considered safe for topical use and is well-tolerated by most skin types. With its unique molecular structure, dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate is a valuable addition to many skincare formulations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dihydrocholesterol octyledecanoate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy