what is vegan

Is e151 vegan?

E151 is a food additive that is commonly used in the food industry as a colorant. It is also known by its common name, brilliant black BN, and is a synthetic dye derived from coal tar. E151 is a water-soluble black powder that can be used to provide a deep black color to a variety of foods and beverages, such as soft drinks, baked goods, and sauces. While E151 has been approved for use by regulatory agencies, some people may be sensitive to it and experience adverse reactions. Therefore, it is important to use E151 in moderation and to be aware of any potential allergic reactions.

E151 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e151?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy