what is vegan

Is e575 vegan?

E575 is a food ingredient that is also known as glucono delta-lactone (GDL), which is a naturally occurring organic compound. It is often used as a food additive and is known for its ability to act as a food acidulant, pH control agent, and sequestrant. E575 is a white crystalline powder that is water-soluble and has a slightly sweet taste. It is commonly found in baked goods, dairy products, and meat products. In baking, E575 is used to improve the texture and shelf life of products. Additionally, it can be used as a meat tenderizer and to enhance the flavor of dairy products.

E575 is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e575?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy