what is vegan

Is magnesium silicate vegan?

Magnesium silicate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is magnesium silicate?

Magnesium silicate is a naturally occurring mineral compound that is widely used in the food industry as an anti-caking agent, bulking agent, and to improve the texture of powdered products. It is a fine, white, odorless powder that is insoluble in water and has a low density. Magnesium silicate is also commonly known as talc, and its chemical formula is Mg3Si4O10(OH)2. It is often added to foods such as powdered sugar, salt, and spices to prevent clumping and improve their flowability. Magnesium silicate is generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and is widely used in food production around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like magnesium silicate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy