what is vegan

Is e621 glutamate de sodium vegan?

E621, also known as sodium glutamate, is a commonly used food additive that enhances the flavor of various dishes. It is the sodium salt of glutamic acid, an amino acid naturally found in many foods such as tomatoes, mushrooms, and cheese. As a flavor enhancer, E621 is used in a wide range of foods including soups, sauces, snacks, and seasonings. Although E621 has been the subject of controversy, it is considered safe for consumption by major food regulatory agencies worldwide, and is widely used in the food industry.

E621 glutamate de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e621 glutamate de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy