what is vegan

Is methylcelulosa vegan?

Methylcelulosa is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is methylcelulosa?

Methylcellulose is a versatile food ingredient derived from plant cellulose. It is commonly used as a thickener, emulsifier, and stabilizer in a variety of food products, including baked goods, sauces, and desserts. Methylcellulose is a popular choice for vegan and vegetarian recipes because it can replicate the texture and viscosity of animal-based ingredients, such as gelatin and egg whites. It is also known for its ability to create unique culinary experiences, such as creating gels, foams, and other textures that can enhance the visual appeal and mouthfeel of dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like methylcelulosa?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy