what is vegan

Is edta vegan?

EDTA, or ethylenediaminetetraacetic acid, is a versatile food ingredient that functions as a chelating agent, meaning it can bind to metal ions and prevent them from reacting with other ingredients in food. EDTA is often used in processed foods to maintain their color, flavor, and texture by preventing oxidation and degradation. It can also be used as a preservative and to prevent spoilage by inhibiting the growth of bacteria and other microorganisms. While EDTA is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies, it is controversial among some consumers who have concerns about its potential health effects.

Edta is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like edta?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app ūüôĆ

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy