what is vegan

Is ethylcellulose vegan?

Ethylcellulose is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ethylcellulose?

Ethylcellulose is a versatile food ingredient that is derived from cellulose, a natural polymer found in plant cell walls. It is commonly used in the food industry as a thickening agent, emulsifier, and stabilizer, due to its ability to improve the texture and consistency of foods. Ethylcellulose is a non-toxic, odorless, and tasteless compound that is highly resistant to water and other liquids. It is commonly found in processed foods such as sauces, soups, and baked goods, as well as dietary supplements and pharmaceutical products. Ethylcellulose is considered a safe and effective food ingredient by regulatory agencies around the world, and is widely used in food manufacturing due to its numerous functional properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ethylcellulose?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy