what is vegan

Is tetranatriumdiphosphat vegan?

Tetranatriumdiphosphat is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tetranatriumdiphosphat?

Tetranatriumdiphosphat, also known as sodium pyrophosphate, is a food additive commonly used as a buffering agent, emulsifier, and thickening agent in a variety of processed foods. This white, odorless, and water-soluble powder is composed of two sodium cations and two pyrophosphate anions, which form a stable and versatile molecule. In food production, tetranatriumdiphosphat helps to maintain pH levels, improve texture, and prevent the formation of undesirable substances. However, excessive consumption of tetranatriumdiphosphat may lead to negative health effects, such as kidney damage, cardiovascular disease, and mineral imbalances.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tetranatriumdiphosphat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy