what is vegan

Is ethylene distearamide vegan?

Ethylene distearamide is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ethylene distearamide?

Ethylene distearamide, also known as EDAS, is a synthetic wax-like substance commonly used in the food industry as a release agent, emulsifier, and anti-foaming agent. It is a non-toxic and non-irritant ingredient that is derived from stearic acid, a saturated fatty acid found in animal and vegetable fats. EDAS is highly effective in preventing sticking and caking in food products, as well as improving their texture and consistency. It is commonly used in the production of baked goods, confectionery, and processed foods. Due to its versatility and safety, EDAS is widely recognized as a valuable food ingredient.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ethylene distearamide?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy