what is vegan

Is extrait de malt vegan?

Extrait de malt is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extrait de malt?

Extrait de malt, also known as malt extract, is a sweet and sticky syrup made from sprouted barley grains that have been dried and mashed. The process of creating malt extract involves soaking the barley grains in water until they start to germinate, which activates natural enzymes that break down the starches in the grain into sugars. The sprouted grains are then kiln-dried and mashed to extract the liquid, which is boiled down into a thick syrup. Malt extract is commonly used as a natural sweetener in foods such as bread, beer, and candy, and also as a nutritional supplement due to its high concentration of vitamins and minerals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrait de malt?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy