what is vegan

Is extrató de malte de cevada vegan?

Extrató de malte de cevada is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extrató de malte de cevada?

Barley malt extract, or "extrato de malte de cevada" in Portuguese, is a sweet and flavorful ingredient commonly used in the food industry. It is made by soaking barley grains in water, allowing them to germinate, and then drying and roasting them. This process breaks down the starches in the barley into simple sugars, which gives the extract its sweet taste. The extract can be used as a natural sweetener in a variety of products, such as baked goods, cereals, and beverages. Additionally, it contains several nutrients, including B vitamins, amino acids, and antioxidants, making it a healthy alternative to artificial sweeteners.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrató de malte de cevada?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy