what is vegan

Is ferments lactique vegan?

Ferments lactique is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ferments lactique?

Ferments lactique, also known as lactic acid bacteria, are a type of microorganism commonly used in the fermentation of dairy products such as yogurt, kefir, and cheese. These bacteria produce lactic acid by breaking down lactose, which gives these products their characteristic tangy flavor and creamy texture. Ferments lactique are also used in the production of sauerkraut, pickles, and other fermented foods. They have been shown to have a number of health benefits, including aiding digestion, boosting the immune system, and improving overall gut health. Ferments lactique are a natural and delicious way to add probiotics to your diet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ferments lactique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy