what is vegan

Is gerstenmalzessig vegan?

Gerstenmalzessig is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gerstenmalzessig?

Gerstenmalzessig, also known as barley malt vinegar, is a tangy and flavorful condiment made from fermented barley malt. It has a deep amber color and a rich, malty taste with a hint of sweetness. The vinegar is made by converting the starch in barley malt into sugar, which is then fermented into acetic acid. The resulting vinegar is versatile and can be used in a variety of dishes, including dressings, marinades, sauces, and pickling. It is also a popular ingredient in German cuisine, particularly for flavoring sausages and stews. Gerstenmalzessig is a healthy alternative to other vinegars, as it is low in calories and fat-free, making it a great addition to any diet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gerstenmalzessig?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy